Skip to main content

1977 Basketball Team (Boys) - District Champions

1977 Basketball Team (Boys) - District Champions
HoF Team
Induction Year

The 1976-77 boys' basketball team was a success on the court, but it also made an impact far from the hardwood.  R.A. Long's season-long basketball journey caught the attention of others, including RAL Vice-Principal Robert E. Misener .  ... "the team members conducted themselves in a manner that would make any school proud .... the team's performance at the end of the regular season and in the playoff games reflected will, determination and class .... those contributions added to the image of the school both in our area and throughout the state .... I saw a new pride develop in the student body and with the townspeople toward R.A. Long .... Congratulations on a job well done."  Entering the 1976-77 season, the Jacks, who played in the predominately AAA Southwest Washington Conference, were selected by the Vancouver Columbian newspaper to be the No.1 AA team.  The Jacks posted a 13-7 record en route to the district playoffs where the first roadblock was a big one – defending AA state champion Shelton, coached by RAL grad and Hall of Fame inductee Terry Gregg. The Jacks gutted out a 40-39 victory to move into the district AA championship game. There they met a familiar foe - Mark Morris. Again, the Jacks prevailed 54-43 and moved into regional play at St. Martin's College against East Bremerton. The Lumberjacks dismissed the Knights 62-52 to reach the Region 3 title game and a rematch with Shelton.  This time the Highclimbers outlasted RAL 52-59.  At the state AA tournament at the University of Puget Sound, the Jacks played Tyee for fourth or ninth-place. Tyee defeated R.A. Long 60-51.  The Jacks, who finished the season at 16-9, were coached by Duane Magee. He was assisted by Wayne Hayes and Ken Crawford.  


  • Dick Perry
  • Craig Nielsen
  • Chris Peterson
  • Chris Fritsch
  • J. D. McLauchlan
  • Mike McNamara
  • Brian VanBuren
  • Phil Culbertson
  • Greg DeGraaff
  • Greg Craddock
  • Greg Wills
  • Clark Potter
  • Brad Gadberry
  • Bob Ratliffe (trainer)
  • Eric Ofstun (manager)
  • Bruce Andrews (manager)
  • Duane Magee (Head Coach)
  • Wayne Hayes (Assistant Coach)
  • Ken Crawford (Assistant Coach)